Posted on March 21, 2014
Why I’m right and Mike is wrong.
No update this week because they are still in the middle of a fight.
Speaking of which…
We got into an argument about whether Uun could draw a Longspear from an Efficient Quiver while climbing. The Efficient Quiver is irrelevant, “the quiver can quickly produce any item she wishes that is within the quiver, as if from a regular quiver or scabbard.” So it isn’t different from a normal weapon draw. And the fact that it is a Longspear is funny, but irrelevant because you only need one hand to draw it and it is a free action to apply a second hand to a two-handed weapon.
There are two rules that govern what Uun was trying, the first of which is a little ambiguous and the second of which is not remotely ambiguous.
1) Drawing a weapon while moving.
It specifically says “regular move”, not Move Action, Move equivalent action or even just Move, all of which would encompass Climbing at 1/4 speed. Instead it says “regular move”. I’m reading this as the type of movement which is regular/normal for the creature type: swimming for mermen, climbing for goats, ambulating for humans. ‘Regular’ isn’t defined anywhere, but I don’t think that’s an unfair reading of the rule. It is still ambiguous, so that’s a house reading of the rule.
2) Doing stuff with your hands while climbing.
“You need both hands free to climb, but you may cling to a wall with one hand while you cast a spell or take some other action that requires only one hand.”
So drawing a weapon during a Climb move and then finishing the climb can’t happen because you need to finish the climb with two hands. Drawing the weapon after the climb is finished isn’t combining it with any kind of move, it is it’s own separate move action.
The second rule makes the first academic.
Since Quick Draw is a feat which is designed to allow you to draw a weapon as a Free Action, no matter whether you move or not, I’ll always be inclined to rule against fruity moves+weapon draws because they step on the feat’s toes, something you’re not supposed to be able to finagle. When in doubt, you don’t whip it out.